sweetabsence


35W Bridge Collapse

8-6-07 || 11:05pm || Mood: The current mood of sweetabsence21 at www.imood.com

When the 35W bridge collapsed I just got to school. Of all days, I scheduled an appointment to see my advisor about my major and when I will be done with school. I went to the Midway campus to meet with her. I was there for about an hour and then when I got into my car to go home I noticed I had about 50 missed calls from Marc. On the way to school I called him and told him I was on my way to school. He was napping and seemed to be half awake on the phone. He probably woke up and remembered that I said something about going to school. So I tried calling him back but my phone wasnt working for some reason (which I later found out was because all the towers were tied up after the bridge collapsed). At the time I had no idea the bridge had collapsed. My radio doesnt work in my car and if it did I would have probably figured it out.

I was sitting at a light right before getting on 94 and about four rescue vehicles races past, going the opposite direction. I looked over and saw a vehicle that said, "Collapsed Structure Rescue" and I thought to myself 'wow, Ive never seen a rescue vehicle like that before. I wonder if something happened at a construction site?'

I got on 94 and I was finally able to call Marc at home (I could call houses but not cell phones). He told me about the bridge and I was shocked. He told me to get off of 94 as soon as I could and thats what I did. I got off on Ceder Ave.

I was trying to go the opposite direction but when there is about eight rescue vehicles are coming from behind you in bumper to bumper traffic you just get over the best way possible. So I ended up in the lane that I didnt want to be in and I had no choice but to towards the accident. The police were everywhere directing traffic. I went around this one block by Grandma's restaurant about 5 times, I think, because they didnt know what to do with us. There was so much traffic. There was also the frusteration of the U of M students standing in the middle of the street in their pajammas taking pictures. At this point I was getting really scared because there was just so much going on. So many flashing lights, helicopters, and spectators. I was able to get a hold of my Dad (who used to be a cab driver) and make it it out of that area and make it home.

I feel so bad for the families of the people involved. I am so interested in the cause of the collapse. There are a lot of people who need explaination.

"This is just the beginning of the financial assistance we will make available to support the state in its recovery efforts," Bush said. Every time a disaster occurs in the U.S., the administration's reaction is compared with its slow response to Katrina, which devastated the Gulf Coast in August 2005."

All I have to say is, he better fucking help us. =|

then || now

current
archives
profile
notes
facebook
design
host